Peacocks Put Seven On Contracts

1 week ago By Jack Moore

Evo-Stik League South, West champions Taunton Town have put seven on contracts for next season.

Ben Adelsbury, Ryan Brett, Ollie Chamberlain, Lloyd Irish, Dan Sullivan, Shane White and skipper Matt Wright have all committed themselves to the Peacocks in the new Southern League South.

The following players Keith Emmerson, Nuno Felix, Pierce Mitchell, Josh Nelmes and Craig Veal, have agreed deals to stay at the Viridor Stadium on non-contract terms for the 2018/19 season.

Taunton boss Leigh Robinson said getting the players on contract was quite straightforward.

He told the club`s official website: “This time of the year can be quite tricky as you have to sell the club to the players as they’re all free agents during the summer.

“But there was not much selling this time as they are keen to stay – they’re enjoying their football and the club has momentum.

“We began planning for next season when promotion looked a mathematical certainty in March.

“We’ve done the number crunching – there’s some extra travel in the Premier next season – but we look in good shape.”

Club chairman Kevin Sturmey is keen to push on next season: “We’ve achieved our first goal of promotion, but we don’t want to stop there”.

By Steve Whitney @ Pitchero

Where next?

Adjustments made to club allocations The FA’s Leagues Committee has been informed of the withdrawal from Step 4 competition of Andover Town FC.

The Evo-Stik South newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.