League lines up for next season

1 year ago By David Watters

They'll be no shortage of champions in the EVO-STIK League Southern next season following the Football Association’s annual summer reshuffle of clubs playing at the top levels of Non-League football.

The EVO-STIK League Southern's line-up for 2017-18 campaign was first published on Sunday in The Non-League Paper before the lifting of an FA embargo at midnight on the allocation of clubs at Steps 1-4 of the National League System.

Covering clubs preparing to kick off in the National League, Isthmian League, Northern Premier League and Southern League next season, the allocation will be confirmed at the AGMs of the competitions in June following any appeals to the FA.

While two Isthmian League clubs were handed reprieves and along with the Northern Premier League, will be boosted by their own champions from Step 5, the only surprises in the EVO-STIK League Southern came with the return of AFC Rushden & Diamonds from the Northern Premier League and the internal switch sideways of Kidlington at Step 4.

Phoenix club Diamonds return to EVO-STIK League Southern Division One Central two seasons after leaving alongside three of the champions - Hartley Wintney from the Combined Counties League, Moneyfields representing the Wessex League and Hellenic League title-winners Thame United. The trio will be competing alongside two of the clubs relegated from the top flight, Cambridge City and Hayes & Yeading United.

Bristol Manor Farm will be fighting to secure their new found status at Step 4 when the new EVO-STIK League Southern Division One South & West season kicks off in August after coming up as Western League champions. Kidlington will be one of their opponents following their lateral shift from EVO-STIK League Southern Division One Central, along with the two other clubs hoping to bounce back to the top flight at the first attempt following relegation, Cinderford Town and Cirencester Town.

Bishop's Stortford and Gosport Borough, relegated from National League South, are back in the EVO-STIK League Southern's top flight along with all four of the promotion winners from EVO-STIK League Southern Division One Central and Division One South & West, respective champions Royston Town and Hereford FC and play-off winners Farnborough and Tiverton Town.

As expected, EVO-STIK League Southern Premier Division champions Chippenham Town are preparing for life in National League South next season unlike top flight play-off winners Leamington who may have expected to join them but instead will be kicking off in National League North come August.

For a full list of the allocations across Steps 1-4 visit: www.thefa.com.

EVO-STIK League Southern Season 2017-18
(last season in brackets)

EVO-STIK League Southern Premier Division
Banbury United (SL P)
Basingstoke Town (SL P)
Biggleswade Town (SL P)
Bishop's Stortford (Nat South)
Chesham United (SL P)
Dorchester Town (SL P)
Dunstable Town (SL P)
Farnborough (SL 1Cen)
Frome Town (SL P)
Gosport Borough (Nat South)
Hereford (SL 1SW)
Hitchin Town (SL P)
Kettering Town (SL P)
King's Lynn Town (SL P)
Kings Langley (SL P)
Merthyr Town (SL P)
Redditch United (SL P)
Royston Town (SL 1Cen)
Slough Town (SL P)
St Ives Town (SL P)
St Neots Town (SL P)
Stratford Town (SL P)
Tiverton Town (SL 1SW)
Weymouth (SL P)

EVO-STIK League Southern Division One Central
AFC Dunstable (SL 1Cen)
AFC Rushden & Diamonds (NPL 1S)
Arlesey Town (SL 1Cen)
Ashford Town (Middx)
Aylesbury (SL 1Cen)
Aylesbury United (SL 1Cen)
Barton Rovers (SL 1Cen)
Beaconsfield Town (SL 1Cen)
Bedford Town (SL 1Cen)
Cambridge City (SL P)
Chalfont St. Peter (SL 1Cen)
Egham Town (SL 1Cen)
Fleet Town (SL 1Cen)
Hanwell Town (SL 1Cen)
Hartley Wintney (CCL)
Hayes & Yeading United (SL P)
Kempston Rovers (SL 1Cen)
Marlow (SL 1Cen)
Moneyfields (Wessex)
Northwood (SL 1Cen)
Thame United (Hellenic)
Uxbridge (SL 1Cen)

EVO-STIK League Southern Division One South & West
AFC Totton (SL 1SW)
Barnstaple Town (SL 1SW)
Bideford (SL 1SW)
Bishops Cleeve (SL 1SW)
Bristol Manor Farm (WL)
Cinderford Town (SL P)
Cirencester Town (SL P)
Didcot Town (SL 1SW)
Evesham United (SL 1SW)
Kidlington (SL 1Cen)
Larkhall Athletic (SL 1SW)
Mangotsfield United (SL 1SW)
North Leigh (SL 1SW)
Paulton Rovers (SL 1SW)
Salisbury (SL 1SW)
Shortwood United (SL 1SW)
Slimbridge (SL 1SW)
Swindon Supermarine (SL 1SW)
Taunton Town (SL 1SW)
Wimborne Town (SL 1SW)
Winchester City (SL 1SW)
Yate Town (SL 1SW)

Images courtesy of TheFA.com

Follow the EVO-STIK League Southern on Twitter at @SouthernLeague1

Where next?

Southern chosen to run new division The EVO-STIK League Southern is looking forward to playing its part in Non-League’s brand new pyramid after the Football Association announced the results of the biggest shake-up to the structure of the grassroots game in more than a decade.
Red and black tribute for chairman EVO-STIK League Southern Aylesbury FC will celebrate the life of Danny Martone after paying a final tribute to their late chairman by turning out in red and black at his funeral.

The Evo-Stik South newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.